The Navigator’s Children

osten ard i

n April 2014, US publisher DAW Books announced that Tad Williams would be writing a new sequel trilogy to the classic “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn” series. Titled “The Last King of Osten Ard”, the series is set thirty years after the events of “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn”. The third volume in the much-anticipated sequel series is titled The Navigator’s Children. Dedicated fans of the original series will recognize the title as likely a reference to Ruyan Ve’s people, the Tinukeda’ya, and the Navigator himself to be mighty Ruyan Ve, the patriarch of the Ocean Children. The Navigator is mentioned many times throughout the original series.

In this new trilogy, Williams journeys back to Osten Ard and continues the story thirty years later, including newcomer Prince Morgan and the twin babies Derra and Deornoth, born to Prince Josua and Lady Vorzheva — a birth heralded by prophecy, which has been the subject of fan speculation since the release of To Green Angel Tower in 1993.

Release date
The Navigator’s Children will be written after the publication of Empire of Grass, which will be published in May 2019.

1 thought on “The Navigator’s Children

  1. Waiting with great anticipation for the third book. I guess I’ll have to give him time to write it! I’ve been searching all over the internet for the last book.

Leave a Reply