The Witchwood Crown

osten ard i

n April 2014, US publisher DAW Books announced that Tad Williams would be writing a new sequel trilogy to the classic “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn” series. Titled “The Last King of Osten Ard”, the series is set thirty years after the events of “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn”. The first volume in the much-anticipated sequel series is set to be titled The Witchwood Crown.


In this new trilogy, Williams journeys back to Osten Ard and continues the story thirty years later, including newcomer Prince Morgan and the twin babies Derra and Deornoth, born to Prince Josua and Lady Vorzheva — a birth heralded by prophecy, which has been the subject of fan speculation since the release of To Green Angel Tower in 1993.

Tad Williams has revealed a few spoilers for fans, including the fact that Simon and Miriamele still rule Osten Ard, at least at the beginning of the story. The author also revealed a partial character list for “The Witchwood Crown”. This list includes many familiar faces and many more unfamiliar names.

The cover art was created by legendary Science Fiction and Fantasy artist Michael Whelan, who illustrated the cover art for Williams’ “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn” series as well as the cover art for “Otherland” and “Shadowmarch”.

Release date
The Witchwood Crown is anticipated to be released in June 2017. Williams stated in December 2014 that about 800 pages of the rough draft have been written already and the writing process is happening very quickly. Details of the story, including spoilers, are available in the press release, here.

3 thoughts on “The Witchwood Crown

  1. Pingback: Tad Williams Does AMA Interview on Reddit | Welcome to Osten Ard

Leave a Reply