Stone of Farewell



follow-up to the best-selling The Dragonbone Chair, Stone of Farewell begins where the previous book left off. Written between 1988 and 1990, it was first published in the United States in August 1990, and soon became a nationwide bestseller.

In this mesmerizing sequel to The Dragonbone Chair, best-selling author Tad Williams returns readers to the troubled realms of humans, Qanuc trolls, and Sithi, as the dark magic and terrifying minions of the undead Sithi ruler, Ineluki the Storm King, spread their seemingly undefeatable evil across the realm of Osten Ard.

As the very land is blighted by the power of Ineluki’s wrath, the tattered remnants of a once-proud human army flee in search of a last sanctuary and rallying point — the Stone of Farewell, a place shrouded in mystery and ancient sorrow. And the widely scattered surviving members of the League of the Scroll desperately struggle to fulfill missions which will take them from the fallen citadels of humans to the hidden mountain caves of the Qanuc… across storm-tormented waters to discover the truth behind an almost-forgotten legend… through a forest alive with dangers no human could hope to brave…to the secret heartland of the Sithi, where the near-immortals must at last decide whether to ally with the race of men in a final war against those of their own blood.

Like The Dragonbone Chair, Stone of Farewell was lauded upon its 1990 release. The San Francisco Chronicle said it was “an epic tale of the struggle of good against evil… the struggle between being and unbeing… an exquisite rendering of the conflict between forces of light and darkness”. The review in Publishers Weekly called it a “panoramic, vigorous, often moving sequel to The Dragonbone Chair“.

Stone of Farewell has been translated into German, Dutch, Spanish, Italian, Croatian, Polish, Czech, Serbian, Bulgarian, Swedish, Finnish, Greek, Russian, and French, among others.

Stone of Farewell would be followed by To Green Angel Tower, the final volume in the original “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn” trilogy.

International Editions


La Roca del Adios, Spanish edition.


η πέτρα του αποχαιρετισμού, Greek edition


Der Abschieds Stein, old German edition.


La Pierre de l’Adieu, old French edition.


L’Arcane des Epees Integrale II, new French Edition.

stone of farewell

2005 US trade paperback.


US mass market paperback.


Скала Прощания, Russian edition.


La Pietra dell Addio, Italian edition.


Stone of Farewell, old UK (Orbit) edition.


Kamień Rozstania, Polish edition.


Der Abschiedsstein, new German edition.


La Roca Del Adios, Spanish edition.

De steen des afscheids

De Steen Des Afscheids, Dutch edition.


The Stone of Farewell, new UK edition (note ‘the’ in title).

Камъкът на раздялата

Камъкът на раздялата, Bulgarian edition.


Old UK edition (Legend Books).


Kamen oproštaja, Croatian edition.

Kamen poslednjeg pozdrava_Serbia

Kamen poslednjeg pozdrava, Serbian edition.


Leave a Reply