Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn

osten ard m

emory, Sorrow, and Thorn is the collective title given to the original novels set in the world called Osten Ard: The Dragonbone Chair (1988), Stone of Farewell (1990), and To Green Angel Tower (1993). Written by speculative fiction author Tad Williams, the novels quickly became international bestsellers, and have been translated into about two dozen languages. To Green Angel Tower is often published in two volumes, as the final work was 1,600 pages in paperback.

Although Williams has written more than a dozen other novels, including Tailchaser’s Song, The War of the Flowers, Shadowmarch, Shadowplay, Shadowrise, Shadowheart, City of Golden Shadow, River of Blue Fire, Mountain of Black Glass, Sea of Silver Light, Caliban’s Hour, Child of an Ancient City, The Dirty Streets of Heaven, Happy Hour in Hell, Sleeping Late on Judgement Day, and has co-authored The Dragons of Ordinary Farm and The Secrets of Ordinary Farm with his wife and business partner Deborah Beale, “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn” remain perhaps his most beloved novels.

The Burning Man“, a novella set in Osten Ard several hundred years before the events of “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn”, has appeared in several forms over the years, including as a novella in the Legends anthology, as a stand-alone novel, and as a graphic novel.

In 2014, Williams announced he was returning to the world of Osten Ard with a new series titled “The Last King of Osten Ard“, composed of three volumes: The Witchwood Crown, Empire of Grass, and The Navigator’s Children. The first volume, The Witchwood Crown, is slated for an April 2017 release in the US and the UK.

Leave a Reply