Michael Whelan agrees to illustrate “The Witchwood Crown”

Michael Whelan painted the covers for the US and UK editions of "Memory, Sorrow and Thorn".

Michael Whelan painted the covers for the US and UK editions of “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn”.

Legendary sci-fi/fantasy illustrator Michael Whelan has agreed to illustrate the cover of Tad Williams’ latest Osten Ard novel, The Witchwood Crown. This is exciting news for fans of both Tad Williams and Michael Whelan. Whelan created the original beautiful covers for The Dragonbone Chair (in 1988), Stone of Farewell (1990), and New York Times bestseller To Green Angel Tower (1993).

Whelan’s paintings have appeared on more than 350 books, including those of Stephen King, Anne McCaffrey, Robert Heinlein, and Piers Anthony. His work on Tad Williams books included all four volumes of “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn”, all four volumes of “Otherland”, and the first three volumes of “Shadowmarch”, including several alternate covers.

The announcement and further details of the new commission can be found on Michael Whelan’s official site.

One thought on “Michael Whelan agrees to illustrate “The Witchwood Crown”

  1. … and the humble writer of these lines knew before the very esteemed authour did …

Comments are closed.